Switzerland

Our goal is to connect the business community, to guide them, to facilitate their approaches and to open doors for them, thanks to the very high quality links and very personal contacts we have been able to establish over the years

The country

Covid Information

We are compiling the data to give you information about COVID as soon as possible.

The detailed information for each country are reserved for our members only. The member zone allows access to each country profile where members will find general information with detailed description for each Arab country, an economic snapshot in addition to detailed data and statistics about each country. Each country page includes a table of that country’s Trade Balance with Switzerland showing the value of Imports and Exports in millions of Swiss Francs (CHF). The Chamber work to offer its members up-to-date, verifiable information.

Members can find links to commercial organizations, such as Chambers of Commerce and any other organizations.
We offer the possibility to add new useful addresses of organizations with interest on trade and commerce.

Appenzell Innerrhoden

Appenzell Ausserrhoden

Aargau

Basel-Stadt

Basel-Landschaft

Bern

Fribourg

Geneva

Glarus

Graubünden

Jura

Lucerne

Neuchâtel

Nidwald

Obwald

Schaffhouse

Schwyz

Soleure

St. Gall

Thurgovia

Ticino

Uri

Vaud

Wallis

Zug

Zürich

More informations

Essential Information

Area: 41,293 sq km
Population: 8’824 millions (2021)
Capital: Berne
Principal Towns: The conurbations of Zurich, Basel, Geneva, Lausanne, Lucerne and Winterthur have populations of over 100,000 inhabitants.
Languages: German, French, Italian and Romansch are the official languages. English is widely spoken, particularly in business and commerce.

Gross Domestic Product
: $748 billion (2020 est.) (PPP)
GDP per capita (Nominal): $86,601 (2020 est.)
GDP per capita (PPP): $68 393 (2020 est.)
International reserves (of foreign exchange and gold): $1015 billion (April 2021 est.)
Unemployment rate : 4,8% (June 2020)

Climate: Switzerland’s climate is a mixture of the major European climatic zones, due to the Alps, and is thus highly variable from place to place. Generally the summers are mild, about 25°C, and the winters cool at about 5°C.

Demography

Population: 8’670’300 (2020)
Ethnic groups: German 65%, French 18%, Italian 10%, Romansch 1%, other 6%
Men: 49.6 %
Woman: 50.4 %
Age Distribution (2020):
0-19 years: 19.9%
20-39 years: 26.3%
40-64 years: 35%
65 years and over: 18.8%
Population Growth: 0.7% (2020)
Education: Of total population 99,9% age 15 and over can read and write.

Visa requirements

Most valid passports are recognized by the Swiss authorities for business or leisure or visits; For more details, please contact the Swiss embassy before departure but we will soon have the details for every country.

Useful links

Algeria

Embassy of Switzerland

9-11, rue Slimane Amirat – El Mouradia – 16070 Alger
Postal address: Embassy of Switzerland – B.P. 443 – 16035 Hydra / Algiers
Téléphone : +213 21 981 000
Fax : +213 21 981 029
Visa +213 21 981 028
Email :  alger@eda.admin.ch
Visa alger.visa@eda.admin.ch

Bahrain

Consular district: The seven emirates of the United Arab Emirates (U.A.E.) and Bahrain

Embassy of Switzerland
Al Khaleej Al Arabi Street – Centro Capital Center Building, 17th floor
Office Building Adjacent to Rotana Centro Hotel
ADNEC / Exhibition Center Area
Abu Dhabi / United Arab Emirates
Téléphone : +971 2 627 46 36
Fax : +971 2 626 96 27
Email : abudhabi@eda.admin.ch
Visa : abudhabi.visa@eda.admin.ch

Consulate General of Switzerland

World Trade Center – Tower West 28th floor
Manama / Kingdom of Bahrain
Téléphone : +973 1751 7780
Fax : +973 1753 1158
Email :  manama@honrep.ch
Consular affairs : abudhabi@eda.admin.ch

Comoros

Consular district: Madagascar, Comoros and Seychelles

Embassy of Switzerland
Building "ARO" – 2 nd Floo
Làlana Solombavambahoaka Frantsay 77
Antsahavola
101 Antananarivo / Madagascar
Téléphone : +41 58 462 19 61
Central : +261 20 226 29 97 / 98
Fax : +41 31 462 19 64
Central : +261 20 222 89 40
Email :  antananarivo@eda.admin.ch
Visa antananarivo.visa@eda.admin.ch

Consular district

Consulate of Switzerland
Magoudjou district (Mangani)
B.P. 514
Moroni / COMOROS
Téléphone : +269 333 0787 
Central +269 433 07 87
Email : moroni@honrep.ch
Consular services :  antananarivo@eda.admin.ch

Djibouti

Consular district: Ethiopia, Djibouti, South Sudan

Embassy of Switzerland
Old Airport – Kolfe Keranyo
Woreda 09
Addis Ababa / Ethiopia
Téléphone : +251 11 371 11 07  
Fax : +251 11 371 21 77
Email :  addisababa@eda.admin.ch
Visa addisababa.visa@eda.admin.ch

Consular district

Consulate General of Switzerland
Rue de Boulaos
Djibouti / République de Djibouti
Téléphone : +253 21 35 56 60
Fax : +253 21 35 56 61
Email : consular affairs  addisababa@eda.admin.ch
Central djibouti@honrep.ch

Egypt

Embassy of Switzerland

10, Abdel Khalek Sarwat Street
11511 Cairo / Egypt
Téléphone : +20 2 25 75 82 84
Fax : +20 2 25 74 52 36
Email cairo@eda.admin.ch
Visa cairo.visa@eda.admin.ch

Consular district

Consulate of Switzerland
c/o Dawar El Omda Boutique Hotel
El Kafr
84513 El Gouna – Red Sea / Egypte
Téléphone : +20 653 580 063
Email : elgouna@honrep.ch
Consular services :  cairo@eda.admin.ch

Irak

Switzerland does not maintain a representation in Iraq. The following representation is responsible for diplomatic interests and consular services in the country.
– Embassy in Amman (Jordan) (diplomatic interests, consular services and visa)
– Embassy in Beirut (Lebanon) (visa)
– Consulate General in Istanbul (Turkey) (visa)

Jordan

Consular district: Jordan and Iraq

Embassy of Switzerland
Abdul Jabbar Al-Rawi street No. 4
South Abdoun – 400 meters south of the Abdoun Mall Circle
Amman / Jordan
Téléphone : Consular Affairs, Visas and Swiss Citizens: +962 6 59 02 520
Ambassador's office, administration, international cooperation and other embassy inquiries: +962 6 593 14 16
Fax : +962 6 593 06 85
Visa +962 6 593 08 29
Email amman@eda.admin.ch
Visa amman.visa@eda.admin.ch

Kuwait

Embassy of Switzerland

Qortuba, Block 2, Street 1 – Villa 122
Kuwait
Téléphone : +965 25 34 01 72 /+965 25 34 01 73 /+965 25 34 01 74 /+965 25 34 01 75
Fax : +965 25 34 01 76
Email :  kuwait@eda.admin.ch

Lebanon

Consular district: Lebanon and Syria

Embassy of Switzerland
Imm. Bourj Al-Ghazal
Avenue Fouad Chéhab
Achrafié / Beirut / Lebanon
Téléphone : +961 1 324 129
Fax : +961 1 324 167
Email :  beirut@eda.admin.ch
Visa beirut.visa@eda.admin.ch

Libya

Embassy of Switzerland

Tripoli / Libya
(temporarily closed)
Téléphone : +218 21 361 41 18  / +218 21 361 41 19
Fax : +218 21 361 42 38
Email :  tripoli@eda.admin.ch

Mauritania

Consular district: Senegal, Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Mali and Mauritania

Embassy of Switzerland
Rue René Ndiaye corner Rue Seydou Nourou Tall
15800 Dakar / Senegal
Téléphone : +221 33 823 05 90
Fax : +221 33 822 36 57
Email :  dakar@eda.admin.ch
Visa dakar.visa@eda.admin.ch

Consulate of Switzerland

Block C Lot 454
Nouakchott / Mauritanie
Téléphone : +222 45 24 28 66
Fax :+222 45 24 28 22
Email :  nouakchott@honrep.ch
Consular affairs : dakar@eda.admin.ch

Morocco

Embassy of Switzerland

Square de Berkane
10020 Rabat / Morocco

Visa: Embassy of Switzerland

12, rue Ouezzane
10020 Rabat / Morocco
Téléphone : +212 537 26 80 30 
Visa : +212 537 26 80 41
Fax :+212 537 26 80 40
Visa +212 537 26 80 50
Email :  rabat@eda.admin.ch
Consular services rabat.chancellerie@eda.admin.ch
Visa rabat.visa@eda.admin.ch

Consulate in Casablanca

Consulate of Switzerland – c/o Kettani Law Firm
8, rue Lahcen El Basri
20100 Casablanca / Morocco
Téléphone : +212 5 22 43 89 00 / +212 537 26 80 30 / +212 537 26 80 31 / +212 537 26 80 32
Fax : +212 5 22 43 89 21
Email :  casablanca@honrep.ch /  rabat@eda.admin.ch

Tamraght Consulate

Consulate of Switzerland
Hay Sahel
80023 Tamraght / Agadir / Morocco
Téléphone : +212 702858458 
Email :  tamraght@honrep.ch
Consular affairs  rabat@eda.admin.ch

Oman

Embassy of Switzerland

Villa 1366, Way 3017,
Shatti Al Qurum
Muscat  / Oman
Téléphone : +968 2496 7670
Fax : +968 2460 3298
Email :  muscat@eda.admin.ch

Palestine

Representative Office of Switzerland Ramallah

Al-Wataniah Bldg., 5th floor
Jerusalem Street
Al-Bireh – Ramallah / Palestine
Téléphone : +970 2 240 83 60
Fax : +970 2 240 83 62
Email : rah.vertretung@eda.admin.ch

Qatar

Embassy of Switzerland

Villa 60 – Zone 66 
Wadi al Humra Street 807
Doha  / Qatar
Téléphone : +974 4020 3400
Fax : +974 4020 3402
Email :  doha@eda.admin.ch

Sudan

Embassy of Switzerland

Street 15, House No. 7
Amarat
Khartoum / Sudan
Téléphone : +249 183 471 010 & +249 183 471 115
Email :  khartoum@eda.admin.ch
Email Visa :  khartoum.visa@eda.admin.ch

Saudi Arabia

Embassy of Switzerland - Diplomatic quarter

Riyadh 11693
Saudi Arabia
Téléphone : +966 11 488 12 91
Fax : +966 11 488 06 32
Email :  riyadh@eda.admin.ch
Email Visa riyadh.visa@eda.admin.ch

Consular district: Saudi Arabia, Oman and Yemen

Regional Consular Center Riyadh
c/o Embassy of Switzerland  – Diplomatic Quarter 
Riyadh 11693 
Saudi Arabia 
Téléphone : +966 11 488 12 91
Fax : +966 11 488 06 32
Email :  riyadh@eda.admin.ch
Email Visa riyadh.visa@eda.admin.ch

Consulat Djeddah - Consulate of Switzerland

Juffali Building, 3rd floor
Madinah Road, Kilo # 6
P. O. Box 55015
Jeddah 21534 / Saudia Arabia
Téléphone : +966 12 667 2222 ext. 1934
Fax : Ext. 1298 +966 12 667 2222
Email   jeddah@honrep.ch
Consular affairs riyadh@eda.admin.ch

Somalia

Switzerland does not maintain a representation in Somalia. The following representations abroad represent Swiss diplomatic interests, provide protection and offer assistance to Swiss nationals in Somalia: Embassy of Switzerland in Kenya

Syria

Embassy of Switzerland

Damascus / Syria
(closed)
Téléphone : Swiss Embassy Beirut / Lebanon +961 1 324 129
Fax : Swiss Embassy Beirut / Lebanon +961 1 324 167
Swiss Embassy Beirut / Lebanon beirut@eda.admin.ch

Tunisia

Embassy of Switzerland

22, Rue Platon
Z.A. Kheireddine
2015 Le Kram – Tunis

Téléphone : +216 71 191 997
Visa +216 71 192 030
VFS Global Visa +216 70 145 758

Fax
Consular affairs +216 71 180 250
Visa +216 71 180 250
Division of diplomatic tasks +216 71 180 231

Email :  tunis@eda.admin.ch
Email Visa :  tunis.visa@eda.admin.ch

United Arab Emirates

Embassy Abou Dhabi

Embassy of Switzerland
Al Khaleej Al Arabi Street 
Centro Capital Center Building, 17th floor
Office Building Adjacent to Rotana Centro Hotel
ADNEC / Exhibition Centre Area
Abu Dhabi / United Arab Emirates
Téléphone : +971 2 627 46 36

Fax : +971 2 626 96 27
Email :  abudhabi@eda.admin.ch
Email Visa abudhabi.visa@eda.admin.ch

Consular district: Consulate General Dubai

Consulate General of Switzerland
Dubai World Trade Center
Dubai / United Arab Emirates
Téléphone : +971 4 329 09 99
Fax : +971 4 331 36 79
Email :  dubai@eda.admin.ch
Consular affairs abudhabi@eda.admin.ch

Yemen

Consular district: Embassy Muscat

Consular district: Embassy Muscat
Embassy of Switzerland
Villa 1366, Way 3017,
Shatti Al Qurum
Muscat / Oman
Téléphone : +968 2496 7670
Fax : +968 2460 3298
Email :  muscat@eda.admin.ch

Consular district

Sana’a Consulate
vakant
Téléphone : +966 11 488 12 91
Email Riad riyadh@eda.admin.ch